Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

5.21.2015
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass
Published: May 5th, 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's
Source: Bought (Hardcover)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

I have to wonder if anyone even reads ACOTAR reviews anymore. Because I'll be honest - I don't. I stopped when like 900 of them were in my feed and they all basically said the same thing.

The thing about ACOTAR is that I know I should hate it. There are gross things. Bad things. Logically, I should hate them. But it appears I review with my heart and not my head. Which is really inconvenient, because now I feel gross for liking this.

I definitely liked Feyre, though, once again, I was disappointed that she wasn't as cold and calculating as I'd been lead to believe. Still, I loved all that Maas did to make her feel authentic. She likes to paint. She's a dreamer - hoping for a time when she can have freedom and stop worrying constantly about the next meal, about keeping her family alive. The bit about her being illiterate was fantastic. It wasn't something that was mentioned once and used as a toy, it was actually a real struggle for Feyre.

And okay, when it comes to Tamlin, I wasn't totally swooning. A beast who is, of course, a beauty. I don't think he and Feyre are the ultimate couple, but I did find them cute and they squeezed my heart a little. The Maiden storyline was utterly pointless, and what Tamlin does after is really really gross and possessive, and I should have hated him for it, but I don't. Excluding this scene, I really did enjoy Tamlin. I enjoyed getting to read about his past, the way he struggled with Feyre in the beginning.

I enjoyed all the history of the characters, to be honest. Lucien, Alis, even Amarantha. And, of course Rhysand.

I hate Rhys because I love him. Logically, he is gross. Really really gross. He drugs Feyre, binds her to him for the rest of her life. BUT I LOVE HIM. (What does that say about me? I'm kind of afraid.) I love his history, the way he's silently helping Feyre in defiance, the way he loves to fly. I'm so excited to see him in the Night Court in the next book, what kind of leader he is now that he's not under Amarantha's thumb. Apparently, I still have it in for the fictional bad boys, just like I did when I was 14. What can I say? Old habits die hard.

And while I don't particularly ship him and Feyre (yet), I'm just not looking forward to the brewing love triangle because we all know how it's going to end - with Feyre and Tamlin, and Rhys probably with a bit of a broken heart.

(P.S. I did not pronounce it "Reese" once in the book. He will forever be "Rise" to me. Bye.)

And, as it turns out, I'm still a sucker for Fae. I loved that aspect of the book, of the courts, and I hope we get to see a lot more of it - and what they're capable of, now that they have their powers - in the next book. The action in the last fourth of the book really got me going, and ACOTAR definitely ended with a bang.
Overall: I hate how conflicted I am over ACOTAR. There were so many things that bugged me and so many things that my head says should have bugged me, but didn't. I loved how real Feyre felt, I love Rhysand, and I couldn't stop reading. Feyre and Tamlin are sweet, and while I hope the next book is a little more plot-driven, I'm really looking forward to seeing the different courts and how Prythian is going to put itself back together. 4.5 stars.


Instead of a song, I made a Pinterest board! AKA, I used this book as an excuse to look at expensive pretty dresses. 

Follow Zoey's board ACOTAR Fashion on Pinterest.

Post Comment
Post a Comment

5.21.2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass
Published: May 5th, 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's
Source: Bought (Hardcover)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

I have to wonder if anyone even reads ACOTAR reviews anymore. Because I'll be honest - I don't. I stopped when like 900 of them were in my feed and they all basically said the same thing.

The thing about ACOTAR is that I know I should hate it. There are gross things. Bad things. Logically, I should hate them. But it appears I review with my heart and not my head. Which is really inconvenient, because now I feel gross for liking this.

I definitely liked Feyre, though, once again, I was disappointed that she wasn't as cold and calculating as I'd been lead to believe. Still, I loved all that Maas did to make her feel authentic. She likes to paint. She's a dreamer - hoping for a time when she can have freedom and stop worrying constantly about the next meal, about keeping her family alive. The bit about her being illiterate was fantastic. It wasn't something that was mentioned once and used as a toy, it was actually a real struggle for Feyre.

And okay, when it comes to Tamlin, I wasn't totally swooning. A beast who is, of course, a beauty. I don't think he and Feyre are the ultimate couple, but I did find them cute and they squeezed my heart a little. The Maiden storyline was utterly pointless, and what Tamlin does after is really really gross and possessive, and I should have hated him for it, but I don't. Excluding this scene, I really did enjoy Tamlin. I enjoyed getting to read about his past, the way he struggled with Feyre in the beginning.

I enjoyed all the history of the characters, to be honest. Lucien, Alis, even Amarantha. And, of course Rhysand.

I hate Rhys because I love him. Logically, he is gross. Really really gross. He drugs Feyre, binds her to him for the rest of her life. BUT I LOVE HIM. (What does that say about me? I'm kind of afraid.) I love his history, the way he's silently helping Feyre in defiance, the way he loves to fly. I'm so excited to see him in the Night Court in the next book, what kind of leader he is now that he's not under Amarantha's thumb. Apparently, I still have it in for the fictional bad boys, just like I did when I was 14. What can I say? Old habits die hard.

And while I don't particularly ship him and Feyre (yet), I'm just not looking forward to the brewing love triangle because we all know how it's going to end - with Feyre and Tamlin, and Rhys probably with a bit of a broken heart.

(P.S. I did not pronounce it "Reese" once in the book. He will forever be "Rise" to me. Bye.)

And, as it turns out, I'm still a sucker for Fae. I loved that aspect of the book, of the courts, and I hope we get to see a lot more of it - and what they're capable of, now that they have their powers - in the next book. The action in the last fourth of the book really got me going, and ACOTAR definitely ended with a bang.
Overall: I hate how conflicted I am over ACOTAR. There were so many things that bugged me and so many things that my head says should have bugged me, but didn't. I loved how real Feyre felt, I love Rhysand, and I couldn't stop reading. Feyre and Tamlin are sweet, and while I hope the next book is a little more plot-driven, I'm really looking forward to seeing the different courts and how Prythian is going to put itself back together. 4.5 stars.


Instead of a song, I made a Pinterest board! AKA, I used this book as an excuse to look at expensive pretty dresses. 

Follow Zoey's board ACOTAR Fashion on Pinterest.

No comments:

Post a Comment