Review: Kiss Crush Collide

1.12.2012
Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith
Published December 27th, 2011 by Greenwillow Books
//Amazon//B&N//The Book Depository//

Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.

To put it simply, I was bored out of my mind. I'm still not even entirely sure how I managed to finish this one, but let's just say I skimmed about 40 pages somewhere in the middle. 


The characters were fairly shallow and boring. I knew next to nothing about them. For one thing, Leah is the main character and narrator, and yet still I know hardly anything about her, other than her narration was pretty dreadful to read through. For the first fourth of the book, most of her time is spent summarizing things about the past. (Which meant - YAY! MORE BORING!) I feel like she has next to no personality. Shane, Leah's boyfriend, is the same way - I know pretty much nothing about him, and if he has any type of interesting personality, it's hidden far too deep for me to ever find it.


And Duffy . . . I don't even know what to say about him. He's certainly more interesting than anyone else in the book, but not by far. The relationship between Duffy and Leah is pretty ridiculous, if you ask me. All he does is drive her in a car and suddenly she's making out with him. I think they probably have a total of two or three real conversations in the entire book - where they talk about things that are actually important. Life. Their relationship. Whatever. Their conversations are always extremely short, too. I just never got anything from them. 


I think a big part of the reason I didn't like this book is because I can't relate to Leah. For one thing, I've never been in anything like the type of situation she's in, but for another, her emotions just didn't come across for me. She felt cold and unemotional, and that's probably why I resented her so much. I just didn't feel anything. 


I will admit that I did like the family dynamics, maybe because it's so unlike my own family. Those were parts I actually enjoyed reading through. 


Overall: I thought I was going to like this. And I guess I can understand why some people would - there's plenty of romance and some interesting interactions. But this book just couldn't hold my attention. 2 stars


*pretend there's a picture here.*


~Zoey~
4 comments on "Review: Kiss Crush Collide"
  1. I have been seeing this one a lot lately. I don't know that it is a book that I would enjoy. I need that character connection. Thank you for the great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow. Taking that off my reading list. I love contemps, so it's always disappointing when the ones that do get published aren't good. Leah sounds very Mary Sue.

    Can't wait to see your review of Ditched!

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's very frustrating when you can't relate to the characters. It really takes away from the enjoyment of the novel. For me, it just keeps drawing me out of the story. Which is counterproductive.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It sounds like there is an insta-love situation here and first person writing is very hard to write in without bogging down the plot.

    Sorry it was a disappointment! Normally I love the 'wrong side of the tracks' romances.

    Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete

1.12.2012

Review: Kiss Crush Collide

Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith
Published December 27th, 2011 by Greenwillow Books
//Amazon//B&N//The Book Depository//

Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.

To put it simply, I was bored out of my mind. I'm still not even entirely sure how I managed to finish this one, but let's just say I skimmed about 40 pages somewhere in the middle. 


The characters were fairly shallow and boring. I knew next to nothing about them. For one thing, Leah is the main character and narrator, and yet still I know hardly anything about her, other than her narration was pretty dreadful to read through. For the first fourth of the book, most of her time is spent summarizing things about the past. (Which meant - YAY! MORE BORING!) I feel like she has next to no personality. Shane, Leah's boyfriend, is the same way - I know pretty much nothing about him, and if he has any type of interesting personality, it's hidden far too deep for me to ever find it.


And Duffy . . . I don't even know what to say about him. He's certainly more interesting than anyone else in the book, but not by far. The relationship between Duffy and Leah is pretty ridiculous, if you ask me. All he does is drive her in a car and suddenly she's making out with him. I think they probably have a total of two or three real conversations in the entire book - where they talk about things that are actually important. Life. Their relationship. Whatever. Their conversations are always extremely short, too. I just never got anything from them. 


I think a big part of the reason I didn't like this book is because I can't relate to Leah. For one thing, I've never been in anything like the type of situation she's in, but for another, her emotions just didn't come across for me. She felt cold and unemotional, and that's probably why I resented her so much. I just didn't feel anything. 


I will admit that I did like the family dynamics, maybe because it's so unlike my own family. Those were parts I actually enjoyed reading through. 


Overall: I thought I was going to like this. And I guess I can understand why some people would - there's plenty of romance and some interesting interactions. But this book just couldn't hold my attention. 2 stars


*pretend there's a picture here.*


~Zoey~

4 comments:

  1. I have been seeing this one a lot lately. I don't know that it is a book that I would enjoy. I need that character connection. Thank you for the great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow. Taking that off my reading list. I love contemps, so it's always disappointing when the ones that do get published aren't good. Leah sounds very Mary Sue.

    Can't wait to see your review of Ditched!

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's very frustrating when you can't relate to the characters. It really takes away from the enjoyment of the novel. For me, it just keeps drawing me out of the story. Which is counterproductive.

    ReplyDelete
  4. It sounds like there is an insta-love situation here and first person writing is very hard to write in without bogging down the plot.

    Sorry it was a disappointment! Normally I love the 'wrong side of the tracks' romances.

    Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete